Arabic Korean Russian Spanish
Allentown School District

Our District

It's 55 PJAS WinnersPennsylvania Junior Academy of Science logo

17 Students move on to State Competition

Fifty-five (55) Allentown School District students - from Dieruff High School, and Harrison-Morton, Raub, South Mountain and Trexler Middle Schools - made their presence known at the regional PJAS (Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science) competition held at the end of February. This is the most winners the District has had in recent years. Seventeen students took first place honors and will move on to the PJAS State Competition at the Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, from May 14 – 17.
Two ASD students won special recognition awards at the PJAS Region 3 Meet. These awards are decided by the regional committee and are awarded to the highest quality projects of the day. Adeeb Saed (Score 4.75) an 11th grade student from Dieruff won a monetary special recognition award from the Instrumental Systems & Automation Society for his project, Muon Lifetime:  Verifying the Exponential Decay Law. Arianna Watkins (Score 4.5) an 8th grade student from SMMS won a monetary special recognition award from the PA Junior Academy of Science for her project,  Designing Stronger Bridges. Additionally, three Trexler students - Elijah Albert-Stein, Quinn Ciommo and Grace Edinger - received $25 awards.
The winners are as follows:
First Place
Dieruff High School
  • Adeeb Saed
  • Fares Saed
Harrison-Morton Middle School
  • Joshua Kingsley
  • Chudong Liang
  • Jaime Torres
Raub Middle School
  • Akwal Madok
South Mountain Middle School
  • Carlee Davidson
  • Raohken Encarnacion-Miranda
  • Ambar Rosario
  • Alondra Rosario
  • Arianna Watkins
Trexler Middle School
  • Elijah Albert-Stein
  • Quinn Ciommo
  • Grace Edinger
  • Alexis Horn
  • Jenavieve LaTorres
  • Chelsea Zucal​
Second Place
Dieruff High School
  • Phillip Rishel
  • Batool Salloum
Harrison-Morton Middle School
  • Danna Berro
  • Thomas Chakif
  • Angela Dergham
  • Reem Hazim
  • Jonathan Jimenez
  • Jose Lainez
  • Angela Mamari
  • Geovanna Moran
  • Breanna Patton
  • Jonathan Plaza
  • Arian Redzepagic
  • Raymond Rivera-Camacho
  • Eilie Saba
  • Anthony Saed
  • Ingi Stity
  • Amir Ysa
Raub Middle School
  • Jamaris Salinas
  • Omar Pagan
  • Lourdes Payano
South Mountain Middle School
  • Annas Farooq
  • Leah Moll
  • Gregorio Soto
Trexler Middle School
  • Madeline Fink
  • Kerigrace Hertzog
  • Elizabeth Iang
  • Thomas Kloss
  • Tynajer Myrick
  • Paul Quinn
  • Gabriela Ramirez
  • Alexis Rounds
  • Xandria Rubero
Third Place
Harrison-Morton Middle School
  • Jewel Lopez
Raub Middle School
  • Kevin Hernandez
  • David Maurtua
  • David Sanchez
Trexler Middle School
  • Sallee Boose
PJAS and the Allentown School District Science Fair are funded by a generous grant from the Harry C. Trexler fund.